2024 AFCON: Everything You Need To Know

The 34th Africa Cup of Nations will commence in Ivory Coast on 13 January after being shifted from 2023 to 2024. The change in schedule occurred due to a rainy season in West Africa. A total of 24 nations will take part in the tournament which will be completed with the final on the 11th of February.

Qualification was divided into two sections, with the preliminary round featuring the lowest-12-ranked African (CAF) nations, followed by the group stages. Final qualification for the tournament was based on a standard group format (Groups A to L), with the top two teams qualifying for AFCON 2023, and the remaining two sides per group eliminated.

The majority of teams expected to qualify for this year’s competition were able to secure their palace quite easily. This includes 16 highest FIFA-ranked African nations. Perhaps the most notable absence is Gabon (FIFA rank 86). Tanzania (FIFA tank 122) are the lowest-ranked side to make it through.

The defending champions of the Africa Cup of Nations is Senegal, who beat Egypt in the 2021 Final via penalties, 4-2. Egypt has the most number of AFCON championship wins with 7.

2024 AFCON Groups

The tournament is split into six groups of four. Group winners and runners-up and the four highest ranked third-placed teams qualify for the knockout stage.

Group A

Ivory Coast (hosts), Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau

Group B

Egypt, Ghana, Cape Verde, Mozambique

Group C

Senegal (holders), Cameroon, Guinea, Gambia

Group D

Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Angola

Group E

Tunisia, Mali, South Africa, Namibia

Group F

Morocco, Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Tanzania

2024 AFCON Full Schedule

Below you can find a complete list of all AFCON fixtures to be played in the months of January and February:

Saturday 13th January

Ivory Coast vs Guinea-Bissau

Sunday 14th January

Nigeria vs Equatorial Guinea

Egypt vs Mozambique

Ghana vs Cape Verde

Monday 15th January

Senegal vs Gambia

Cameroon vs Guinea

Algeria vs Angola

Tuesday 16th January

Burkina Faso vs Mauritania

Tunisia vs Namibia

Mali vs South Africa

Wednesday 17th January

Morocco vs Tanzania

DR Congo vs Zambia

Thursday 18th January

Equatorial Guinea vs Guinea-Bissau

Ivory Coast vs Nigeria

Egypt vs Ghana

Friday 19th January

Cape Verde vs Mozambique

Senegal vs Cameroon

Guinea vs Gambia

Saturday 20th January

Algeria vs Burkina Faso

Mauritania vs Angola

Tunisia vs Mali

Sunday 21st January

Morocco vs DR Congo

Zambia vs Tanzania

South Africa vs Namibia

Monday 22nd January

Equatorial Guinea vs Ivory Coast

Guinea-Bissau vs Nigeria

Cape Verde vs Egypt

Mozambique vs Ghana

Tuesday 23rd January

Gambia vs Cameroon

Guinea vs Senegal

Angola vs Burkina Faso

Mauritania vs Algeria

Wednesday 24th January

Namibia vs Mali

South Africa, Tunisia

Tanzania vs DR Congo

Zambia vs Morocco

Saturday 27th January

Group D Winner vs Third Place Group B/E/F

Group A Runner-Up vs Group C Runner-Up

Sunday 28th January

Group A Winner vs Third Place Group C/D/E

Ground B Runner-Up vs Group F Runner-Up

Monday 29th January

Group B Winner vs Third Place Group A/C/D

Group C Winner vs Third Place Group A/B/F

Tuesday 30th January

Group E Winner vs Group D Runner-Up

Group F Winner vs Group E Runner-Up

Friday 2nd February

Quarter-Final 1

Quarter-Final 2

Saturday 3rd February

Quarter-Final 3

Quarter-Final 4

Wednesday 7th February

Semi-Final 1

Semi-Final 2

Saturday 10th February

Third-Place Playoff

Sunday 11th February

Final, 8pm

If you want to learn more about betting sites you can use to bet AFCON, check our detailed guides on how to bet on AFCON with 1xbet, Bet9ja or BetKing.


If you’re looking for quick answers to commonly asked questions about 2024 AFCON read the section that follows.

When does the AFCON 2024 begin?

The tournament will start on the 13th of January this year and will continue until the 11th of February.

Who are the defending champions?

The defending champions of the tournament are Senegal who were able to capture the championship back in 2021.

How many teams will qualify for the knockout round?

Of the 24 teams participating, group winners, runners-up and the four highest ranked third-placed teams will qualify for the knockout stage.