T20 World Cup: England & Bangladesh Qualify For Super Eights

With wins over the weekend, England and Bangladesh qualified for the Super Eights round of the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The top two teams from each group advance to the Super Eights round where the semi-finalist will be decided.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup in 2024 displeayed on mobile device
GK Images / Alamy Stock Photo

England defeated Namibia by 41 runs in a match hit by rain and required a loss from Scotland against Australia to make it through. Scotland was almost able to pull off the upset, losing with only two balls remaining as they tried to defend 180 against the mighty Australian team. 

Both Scotland and England ended on five points with two wins and a no result but England was able to advance due to a higher net run rate. Australia remained undefeated at the top of Group B and looked like they could be the team to beat going forward.

On Sunday, Bangladesh only managed to scrape together a score of 106 in their match against Nepal but a fiery opening spell from Tanzim Hasan Sakib powered them to a 21 run win. Bangladesh had previously beaten Sri Lanka and Netherlands to end on 6 points. Their only loss came at the hands of South Africa who topped the group with 4 wins and no losses. 

The eight teams that will advance to the Super Eights are: India, Australia, Afghanistan, South Africa, England, USA, Bangladesh and West Indies.

Group Stage Tables

Group A

TeamWon LostNo ResultPoints
India (q)3017
USA (q)2115

Group B

TeamWon LostNo ResultPoints
Australia (q)4018
England (q)2115

Group C

TeamWon LostNo ResultPoints
Afghanistan (q)3006
West Indies (q)3006
New Zealand1202

Group D

TeamWon LostNo ResultPoints
South Africa (q)4008
Bangladesh (q)3106
Sri Lanka1213

Super Eights Format & Groups

The Super 8 stage will feature eight teams who are divided into two groups. Each team will face each other team in the group in a round-robin format. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals. In the case of a tie, net run rate will decide on the team that qualifies for the semis.

The two groups would be as follows if Afghanistan are able to secure the top spot in Group C against the West Indies tomorrow.

Group 1

India (A1)

England (B2)

Afghanistan (C1)

Bangladesh (D2)

Group 2

USA (A2)

Australia (B1)

West Indies (C2)

South Africa (D1)

Super Eights Schedule

The Super 8s will start on Wednesday the 19th of June and will continue until the 24th of June. All matches will take place in the Caribbean. Below you can find a list of all matches in the Super Eights round.

Wed, 19 June 2024 – USA v South Africa, Antigua, 10:30 am

Wed, 19 June 2024 – England v West Indies, St. Lucia, 08:30 pm

Thur, 20 June 2024 – Afghanistan v India, Barbados, 10:30 am

Thur, 20 June 2024 – Australia v Bangladesh, Antigua, 08:30 pm 

Fri, 21 June 2024 – England v South Africa, St. Lucia, 10:30 am 

Fri, 21 June 2024 – USA v West Indies, Barbados, 08:30 pm

Sat, 22 June 2024 – India v Bangladesh, Antigua, 10:30 am 

Sat, 22 June 2024 – Afghanistan v Australia, St. Vincent, 08:30 pm

Sun, 23 June 2024 – USA v England, Barbados, 10:30 am

Sun, 23 June 2024 – West Indies v South Africa, Antigua, 08:30 pm

Mon, 24 June 2024 – Australia v India, St. Lucia, 10:30 am

Mon, 24 June 2024 – Afghanistan v Bangladesh, St. Vincent, 08:30 pm

(All times provided are local)